Decisive Moment


The Golden Coast

The “decisive moment”, according to Henri Cartier-Bresson, “it is the simultaneous recognition, in a fraction of a second, of the significance of an event as well as the precise organization of forms which gives that event its proper expression.”  A “decisive moment” is what elevates a photograph to a higher level.  One of Bresson’s most iconic images, the man leaping over a large puddle and touching it with his heel, showed the “decisive moment” turn an otherwise ordinary image into a master piece.

It is fairly straight forward with photojournalism and wild life photography to capture the moment.  In landscape photography, I feel that the “decisive moment” is what gives a photograph its soul.  A major problem with landscape photography is that an image is reproducible.  Once an image becomes reproducible, it loses some of its value and visual impact, no matter how hard one tries with composition.  What is a decisive moment in landscape photography?  It could be a special moment in light situation, weather condition, season or movement.

During my recent trip to Oregon, my first stop was Cannon Beach.  This is a beautiful place by any standard.  However, Cannon Beach and its famous sea stack have been shot to death.  I don’t know how many millions of photos have that rock in the frames.  My chance of capture anything unique is fairly low.  Then, one night, I was wondering on the beach at sunset.  The sunset was not spectacular, but I did not leave.  15 minutes after the sunset, the sky at west became more interesting and I noticed orange reflection on the wet sand.  As the wave retreated, it left behind wet sand as smooth as a mirror.  At an angle towards the west, the reflection was the most visible.  With each wave, the reflection left behind was different.  I quickly setup my tripod and started to compose the image.  I chose a position where the distant light house was in between two rocks that were closer, and more importantly, to avoid that famous sea stack on the beach.  I tried several times to time my exposure at the right moment when waves advanced on the beach.  Finally, I captured one moment where reflection was at the exact position as I wanted.  15 minutes later, the light started to fade away and the show was over.

11 thoughts on “Decisive Moment

  1. claireaperez

    this is lovely…I know just what you mean about the photo that just gets over shot. I live in Ithaca NY and I feel like everything is over shot. This is really unique, making me think, it really is about the light.
    Cheers

    Reply
  2. how to text a girl

    Hello there I am so thrilled I found your site, I really found you by error, while I was looking on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say kudos
    for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great job.

    Reply
  3. Blinds Express Coupons

    Hi are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up
    my own. Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your
    own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Reply
  4. wiz khalifa quotes

    Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and in depth information you offer.

    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t
    the same old rehashed material. Wonderful read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

    Reply
  5. wiz khalifa quotes

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get
    several emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?

    Cheers!

    Reply
    1. John Fan

      Hi,Thanks for your comments. I don’t think I can change the setting for you. You have to do it yourself, I don’t know how to do it though. Best, John Fan

      Reply

Leave a Reply

