Frozen Passage


Frozen Passage

I had been planning to drive up the Lake Michigan coast to photograph those lighthouses in the winter.  But we had an unusually warm winter last year.  I had to give up the plan.  This year, I was watching the weather every week, hoping for a bad wintery weather.  A cold front finally went by at end of January.  I decided to give a try, even it started to warm up over the weekend.

Frankfort, Michigan was a deserted town in the middle of winter.  When I arrived under a heavy snow, the huge resort we checked in probably only had five guests.  I am sure I was the only photographer in town.  I scouted the area and waited for the gloomy sky to clear.  Well, it didn’t clear next morning.  There was a plan B.  My wife and I decided to head up Old Mission Peninsula for a wine tour instead.  This area in Michigan produces some of the finest wines in the country.  Fortunately, the taste of wine does not depend on the weather like the photography does.  We have never visited so many wineries in a single day. 

On the way back to the hotel near dusk, I saw a glimpse of hope.  There was a slim gap in the thick cloud at horizon towards west.  I drove directly to the pier, put on the cleats, grabbed my gears, headed out to the icy pier. But the sun never came out. I decided to shoot into dark regardless.  After a few shots, the light turned blue.  There was enough light escaped through the gap in the cloud so that the magical blue hour was visible to the camera sensor.

There is hope in any situation.

2 thoughts on “Frozen Passage

Leave a Reply

